Last night we went to the UK Music Video Awards, it was much fun, see below for all the details!
The 7th annual UK Music Video Awards were held in London at the Queen Elizabeth Hall in the Southbank Centre, where a throng of British and International filmmakers assembled to celebrate creative and technical excellence in music videos.

Video of the Year went to American directing duo DANIELS, who received a total of five nominations and also picked up Best Dance Video - International for DJ Snake ft Lil Jon’s ‘Turn Down For What’. And the UK Jury selected LA-based director Hiro Murai as the Best Director of the past year for his body of work, which include Queens of the Stone Age’s ‘Smooth Sailing’ which also won him the Best Rock/Indie Video – International.

One of the big British winners of the night was Daniel Wolfe for his 8 minute epic for Paolo Nutini’s ‘Iron Sky’, which picked up five nominations and rewarded him with the Best Pop Video title as well as the coveted Best Cinematography prize for Robbie Ryan. Wolfe, who was named the MVAs Best Director in 2010, has just released his first feature, ‘Catch Me Daddy’ which itself picked up an award at the recent BFI London Film Festival Awards.

Also picking up two honours at the ceremony hosted by comedian Adam Buxton, was Mercury Prize-nominated FKA Twigs’ who won the brand new Best Video Artist category for her body of video work in the past year, as well as the Best Alternative Video – Budget for ‘Papi Pacify’, co-directed by twigs with Tom Beard. Meanwhile other British women gracing the stage on the night included Agile Films producer, Amber Millington who beat off competition from the UK and France to win the Best Producer award, and Caroline Clayton who took home the Best Commissioner trophy.

In the non-video categories, Kate Moross collected the Best Music Ad – TV or Online for her direction of ‘Settle’ by Disclosure, and relative newcomer, Bartleberry Logan picked up the coveted Best Live Music Coverage title for his direction of Black Rebel Motorcycle Club Live in Paris.

Grammy-award winning video director Joseph Kahn was presented with the Icon Award. He is celebrated for his iconic work with a generation of music artists, including Beyonce, Britney Spears, Lady Gaga, Eminem, Katy Perry, Wu-Tang Clan, Justin Timberlake and U2. Heartfelt tributes on the night came from Robbie Williams and Kylie Minogue.

Earlier on saw the successful launch of MusicVidFest, a conference on the business of music video creativity held at BFI Southbank, which gave professionals a chance to discuss the issues and advances driving music video production here and abroad.

The full list of winners can be found here // UK Music Video Awards